Shortly after the end of the Second World War attempts began to save and preserve this site of suffering and sadness in such a way as to provide an enduring memory and warning for future generations.
On May 6th 1947 the government of the Czechoslovak Republic decided to create the Terezín Memorial, with the aim of conserving and preserving the site as it was during the period of the Nazi occupation. Today, the Terezín Memorial comprises a collection of individual monuments that are noticeably dispersed, and do not form a single site.
- The Small Fortress as a historical part of Terezín
- The National Cemetery
- The Ghetto Museum
- The Magdeburg Barracks
- The Jewish Cemetery, with the crematorium and the Russian cemetery
- The memorial to Soviet forces
- The memorial plaque by the former railway sidings
- The site of reverence on the Ohře (Eger)
- The columbarium with part of the fortifications, a ceremonial space and mortuary
- Prayer room from the time of the Terezín ghetto and replica of attic
- The former Richard underground factory at Litoměřice and crematorium